« tillbaka / back

Marine Dominiczak FR



In Belgium from 28 october 2017 to 4 february 2018
It is an initiative introduced and implemented by the WCC•BF, in partnership with the Pôle muséal of the city of Mons and which is supported
by the Federation of Wallonia and Brussels.
The Grande Halle du Site des Anciens Abbatoirs in Mons will be laid out and decorated by Evelyne Gilmont.

In 2018, the triennial is exporting outside Belgian frontiers:
In Sweden: Maj Sandell, director of the Gustavsbergs’ Gallery, will welcome the even in February 2018.
In France: Françoise Seince and Laurianne Duries, director and associate director of the Ateliers de Paris will welcome the event in September 2018.

The current hybridization of the disciplines, being specific to the contemporary and global creation, doesn’t exempt the field of jewellery anymore. The fundamental gap between the accessory and the piece of art has gradually expanded since a couple of years. Being transdisciplinary, almost unruly, the artists play the daring card of the contemporary jewellery.

Far beyond its materiality, it questions its era. Being a living art, the contemporary jewel has got performance objectives. Being a mediator between one’s own and the foreign, it works in some kind of concert with other mediums and exceeds the aesthetical, technical and discursive barriers in order to reflect about our existence through our bodies, which are essential chain links.

The WCC•BF keeps the outreach of this artistic discipline along with Munich, Paris, Barcelona etc. In 2017 thanks to the sixth edition of the European triennial for contemporary jewellery. For this edition, Sweden and France along with Belgium inaugurate the Grande Halle des anciens abattoirs with multiple variations of the contemporary jewel.

An internationally recognized event two European countries are invited to join Belgium at every triennial. This year, France and Sweden will delight us with their presence and participation. Together we will present the works of some 40 artists in the field of the contemporary jewel. Three commissioners have been chosen to select representative works of their respective countries: François Vanderauwera, curator for Belgium; Brune Boyer, plastician, and jeweller, for France; Sofia Björkman, owner and curator of Platina Gallery in Stockholm, for Sweden.

Selected Artists

Clarisse Bruynbroeck, Liesbet Bussche, Isabelle Carpentier, Frédérique Coomans, Clémentine Correzzola, Bernard François, Max Gielis, Jonathan Hens, Lodie Kardouss, Jorge Manilla, Patrick Marchal, Dimitar Stankov, Sébastien Vandekerckhove, Octave Vandeweghe, Eve Wolfs.

Marianne Anselin, Stella Bierrenbach, Babette Boucher, Monika Brugger, Sébastien Carré, Marion Delarue, Marine Dominiczak, Sophie Hanagarth, Florence Lehman, Isabelle Leourier, Marie Masson, Nathalie Perret, Galatée Pestre, Céline Sylvestre, Laurence Verdier.

A5 (Adam Grinovich & Annika Pettersson), Tobias Alm, Lisa Björke, Linnéa Eriksson, Mia Fkih Mabrouk, Catarina Hällzon, Helena Johansson Lindell, Agnieszka Knap, Agnes Larsson, Li Liang, Kajsa Lindberg, Karin Roy Andersson, Jelizaveta Suska, Sanna Svedestedt Carboo, Johanna Tornqvist.



Karin Roy Andersson (Photo: Karin Roy Andersson)
Linnea Eriksson (Photo: Linnéa Eriksson)


Florence Lehmann (Photo : Nathalie Dolhen)
Marion Delarue (Photo : Marion Delarue)


Sébastien Vandekerckhove (Photo : Jan & Jorre Photography)
Lodie Kardouss (Photo: Yvan Guerdon)




« tillbaka / back